Eat n’ Season: February

1 Feb

Happy Friday everybody!  I’m so excited it’s the weekend.  Tonight is date night with Bob and then I’m taking a quick trip home for the weekend to celebrate my mom’s birthday, visit with family, eat good food and watch the Superbowl!!!  My favorite part of the Superbowl will be the commercials and Beyonce’s half-time show :)  Who are you rooting for?

I am always trying to incorporate more fresh fruits and veggies into my diet.  I find that one of the best, and most inexpensive, ways to do this is to focus on the fruits and veggies that are in season each month.  So here’s a little printable I made for February!  (my first time…I promise these will get better)  Print it out, hang it on your fridge or just save it to your phone for when you go grocery shopping, and eat n’ season this month!

February

The best fruits this month are oranges, grapefruit, papaya, and lemons.  The best veggies:  broccoli and cauliflower.  Here are some meal ideas:

*My favorite breakfast w/ an orange

*Spinach salad with grapefruit segments, avocado, and 3-2-1 honey grapefruit dressing (1 tsp honey, 2 tsp white vinegar, 3 tsp olive oil, squeeze of grapefruit juice, salt and pepper)  I think this would be delicious topped with grilled shrimp!

*Lemon chicken and pasta

*Add papaya to a tropical smoothie

*Roasted broccoli and cauliflower (Toss broccoli and cauliflower pieces with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic.  Spread out on a baking sheet and bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes, or until lightly browned.)  Serve with protein of your choice.  I love baked salmon :)

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

