Chicken Salad Lettuce Wraps

24 Oct

Happy Wednesday!  How is everyone’s day going so far?

Well, my day got off to a late start because of THIS

source

Whenever I order something from Amazon, I always feel obligated to spend the $25 so I can get free shipping.  So on my last purchase, I chose Project Runway Season 4 (aka the best season) as my filler.  This was a horrible decision because instead of doing anything productive this week I have just been watching Christian Siriano talk about his ferociousness.  Oh well.

I eventually pulled myself together and made my way downtown for an afternoon Pilates session with Lisa at the Pilatium.  (If you live in the New York area, I cannot recommend her enough!)  I am starting to work on the advanced exercises now, so it was a tough one, but I felt great afterwards 🙂

Soooo, tonight I wanted to share my recipe for chicken salad lettuce wraps.  My mom and I adapted this from a Giada recipe a few years ago, and I still make it today.  It is super fast and easy and makes a great light lunch or dinner.  It also holds up really well at room temperature, so it’s a perfect option for a picnic or hiking trip.

Chicken Salad Lettuce Wraps
(adapted from Giada De Laurentiis’s Italian Chicken Salad in Lettuce Cups)

About 3 cups shredded chicken (from 1 rotisserie chicken)
1 bell pepper, very thinly sliced (I use a little from a red, orange and yellow pepper to give the salad some color)
2 scallions, very thinly sliced
2 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
Handful of sliced almonds
Classic 3-2-1 dressing (recipe below!)
Romaine lettuce leaves

Combine the chicken, peppers, scallions, parsley and almonds in a large bowl.  Add the dressing and toss well.  Serve in lettuce leaves!

Classic 3-2-1 dressing

1 tsp organic cane sugar
2 tsp white vinegar
3 tsp extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper

Wisk together for a delicious dressing!

Make it your own:
– Use butter lettuce instead of romaine
– Serve as a sandwich
– Mix with a cooked grain like quinoa or wheat berries

One Response to “Chicken Salad Lettuce Wraps”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eat n’ Season – March | Pasta n' Pilates - March 1, 2013

    […] up salads […]

Leave a comment